This event is jointly sponsored by the American Society for Microbiology

Travel Grants

Deadline: February 24, 2014

Students, postdoctoral fellows, and technologists who submit abstracts are eligible for travel awards sponsored by the Pan American Society for Clinical Virology (PASCV) and the Clinical Virology Symposium.

Award Types
Special travel awards are available in honor of:

• Dr. Edwin Lennette
• Dr. Edith Hsiung
• Dr. Herman Friedman sponsored by the Clinical Virology Symposium ($1500)
• Dr. Mario Escobar sponsored by the Clinical Virology Symposium ($1500)
• *Special Award for Latin American Residents sponsored by the PASCV ($2000)

*Available to faculty

The PASCV offers several additional travel awards in addition to the named awards above. For detailed information on Award Types and previous recipients, visit


Applicant must:

• Be presenting author of submitted abstract;
• Reside in North America;
• Be a student, post-doctoral fellow, or technologist; and
• Not have received the award in the past three years.

Preference is given to those who have not received the award.

To Apply
Applicants should submit:

• Eligibility letter from supervisor. Letter must include the name of the student, fellow, or technologist who is competing for the travel award, and abstract title
• Copy of abstract submitted to Call for Abstracts
Travel Award Application Form (Form may be completed in English or Spanish)

Application materials should be sent to:

Email grant application to:
Dr. Steven Specter, Symposium Chairman
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

or if by mail, please send two copies to:
Dr. Steven Specter
MDC04, University of South Florida College of Medicine
12901 Bruce B. Downs Blvd.
Tampa, FL 33612


Recipients will be notified on March 10, 2014.